This post is not about watermellon pickles!

My post on watermellon pickles and libido brought in the most hits ever on my blog.  Oofta, now I know what all of you have been thinking!  This post—has nothing to do with pickles unless they are stored in the galley of a tall ship.

Thousands of Northlanders are expected to turn out on Thursday for the arrival of three tall ships in the Duluth, Minnesota harbor.  Lake Superior has brought us many wonderful things over the years….and this week, as part of  Maritime Heritage Festival we will have the chance to see the Niagra, Madeline and the Pride of Baltimore.

As a reporter and civilian I have traveled on several vessels, including a cruise ship and an iron ore carrier.  My husband also paddles a mean little canoe.  But I have always dreamed of sailing on a tall ship.  I’m trying to figure out how I can become a stow-a-way on the Baltimore.  My luck I would end up a cast-a-way on an uncharted island off the Northshore.  Oofta!

This week’s event in Duluth should be very exciting…as it also marks the 150th year of statehood for Minnesota.

 

To see some beautiful photos of the Pride….follow this link.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/billmcallenphotos/397841788/in/set-72157594207239193/

3 responses to “This post is not about watermellon pickles!

  1. The Pride of Baltimore II is one of the best looking topsail schooners afloat, rivaled only by the Lynx. I’ve been researching them for a novel in progress.

  2. Hello: Please let anyone who cares that the photo above is my copyrighted image and to see more exciting Pride of Baltimore ll images please visit the website listed.
    Bill

  3. thank you very much.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

