Oofta! Potato Dumplings!

Ode to Swedish Potato Dumplings!Potato Dumplings

When I was a little girl in Minnesota my mother and grandmother would make Swedish Keopkakker also known as Potato Dumplings. My mother would use the grease from the fry pan used to fry up the pork or ham and make a gravy to pour over the dumplings.

My oh my…we ate these up quicker than she could serve them up.

Left overs were sliced up and fried in butter.

We pronounced it “Crewb’-cah-cah” Oofta—My mouth waters just thinking about them!

Mom and Jitterbug

Mom and Jitterbug

One weekend soon my daughter and I will be whipping up a batch to see if they taste as good today as they did some fifty years ago!

It’s a good thing she’s in nursing school…this might just be a heart attack in a pan…

10 responses to “Oofta! Potato Dumplings!

  1. My mouth is already watering!

    • I am proud to have grown up in a Swedish settlement in Southern Saskatchewan …. Stockholm, Saskatchewan none the less. And I am blessed that my family has carried on the tradition of cooking this wonderful dish. There is absolutely nothing in this world like sitting down and feasting with family and friends on these ‘potatoe dumplings’. Mouth watering barely describes it.

      • Hi “Willy”
        Went on line to look for the recipe for Swedish “Kams” and lo and behold this site showed up! I’m also from Stockholm, Sask and left in 1978 after graduation. Currently my husband, Alvin and I live in Grand Forks, BC since 1994. Nice to see it’s still a small world. Cheers, Diane

      • Terry ericksonj

        Hello Willy and Diane-I too am from Stockholm-i’m john and Doreen Erickson’s youngest. I believe my first meal was fried kams. 57 years later I’m making them at the tip of the Mexican baja in San Jose where I live. As kids we enjoyed kams with butter and sugar or honey. Ah the memories……

  2. In Sweden we call them Kroppkakor..it’s a taste of heaven really. We eat them with lingonberry jam. The combination taste so good!! Greatings from Stockholm Sweden.

  3. Btw..I think it is nice that you still will continue the Swedish heritage and still eat our national food over there, on the other side of the Atlantic.

  4. Hey I am not a stalker..;) just want to promote a nice Swedish guy who probably love Kroppkakor.

    .http://se.youtube.com/watch?v=swDkSEbZWoA

  5. Another group , some friends, I want to promote..Long live disco..http://se.youtube.com/watch?v=77zyK0unMcQ&feature=PlayList&p=587D1497AA8039BC&playnext=1&index=65
    Viking power 😉

  6. sorry …try this link instead.

  7. As I said before, your site don’t approve the línk, anyhows never mind …but i tried to get some nice tunes in your potatoe dumpling land anyhow..lol

Leave a Reply

