Gas prices and conservation…Oofta!

I am at a certain age where I am closer to retirement than midlife crisis…and Oofta between upcoming winter heating bills and ongoing pain at the pump I truly worry that my 401K will see me through the many years to come.

Funny I never feared that possibility two years ago. My retirement fund was climbing weekly and the visions of security in my golden years seemed assured. Heck I shop at Walmart! In fact my Golden Parachute included a job as “greeter.” Oofta, how many of us have thought about that possibility to supplement our Social Security.

Today banks are failing, the stock market is plunging and there’s a waiting list for those jobs.

I’ve never squandered my money…now the money I do have seems even more dear. And that leads me to a idea I have been mulling over. MAYBE it is time to buy a scooter. They are gas sippers, I still have my balance and would probably survive a drive into town and back…and frankly they look like they’d be fun!

OOFTA

OOFTA

My purchase would also stimulate the economy.

I imagine the wind blowing thru my hair as I wave happily to my neighbors and the town folks. Putt, putt, putting thru town…with the songs from Easy Rider playing on my 25 year old Walkman. I’d like a little basket up front for my dog. He loves to ride shotgun. I am still mulling over models. Safety or style? Practicality or flamboyance?

I am leaning toward something in red…but the training wheels? They have to go!

One response to “Gas prices and conservation…Oofta!

  1. Your Daughter

    Make sure you wear a helmet!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

